Francisco Moraes e Sua Orquestra - As Melhores do Ano (1964)

Chantecler CMG 2258

"What are you writing, Daddy?" starts the background cover text in form of a conversation written by Jair Thaumaturgo.

Of course, Jair, caught red handed while writing linear notes, answers the question made by his daughter and during further dialogue, explains all she and we might want to know about this recording and also writes down her remarks...

However cute it all might be, the recommended way to determine the content of this album by maestro Francisco Moraes is to get the Lp and listen to:

01. Lawrence Of Arabia (Maurice Jarre)
02. Sonhar Contigo (Adilson Ramos / Armelindo Leandro)
03. Blame It On The Bossa Nova (Cynthia Weil / Barry Mann)
04. Legata A Un Granello Di Sabbia (Fermo Dante Marchetti / Nico Fidenco)
05. Tudo de Mim (Jair Amorim / Evaldo Gouveia)
06. Garota de Ipanema (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
07. Ti Guarderó Nel Cuore (Nino Oliviero / Riz Ortolani / Marcello Ciorciolini)
08. Esta Noite Eu Queria Que O Mundo Acabasse (Silvio Lima)
09. Chariot (J. W. Stole / Jacques Plante / Del Roma)
10. Quando, Quando, Quando (Tony Renis / Alberto Testa)
11. O Problema do Amor (Jair Gonçalves / Carlos Gonzaga)
12. Sukiyaki (Hachidai Nakamura / Rokusuke Ei)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Turma da Bossa - Sambas de Bossa Nova (1959)

Musidisc Hi-Fi 2023

About Turma da Bossa I know only that this is probably their only album and that there is another band with the same name who has released in 2000 a CD with a recording of their live performance at Tom's Bar.

As expected, the linear notes by Sebastião Fonseca are without any information about the Turma at all, explaining their music and the compositions performed with a prominent quantity of words instead.

So, at the moment there is only one path to take to find out more:
The path of simply listening to:

01. Chega de Saudade (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
02. Lamento (Djalma Ferreira / Luis Antônio)
03. Vai, Mas Vai Mesmo (Ataulfo Alves)
04. Não Vou Pra Brasília (Billy Blanco)
05. Mocinho Bonito (Billy Blanco)
06. É Luxo Só (Ary Barroso / Luis Peixoto)
07. Se Acaso Você Chegasse (Lupicínio Rodrigues / Felisberto Martins)
08. Recado (Djalma Ferreira / Luis Antônio)
09. Barracão (Luis Antônio / Oldemar Magalhães)
10. Com Que Roupa (Noel Rosa)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

There was also a second stereo edition of the record called Turma de Bossa - Samba de Brasilia with three different or additional tracks