Gallo e Seu Conjunto - Um Drink Dancante (1958)

Columbia LPCB 40004

Piano player Gallo, presented about a month ago with his first career album. Now here is his second one.

The cast is different this time and consists of:

Gallo: Piano
Paulo Nunes (Paulinho): Guitarra
João Alves do Carmo (Joãozinho): Bateria
Gumercindo Nogueira da Silva (Gugu): Contrabaixo
Amaury Rodrigues: Ritmo

The tracks:

01. Adios Muchachos (César Vedani / Julio César Sanders)
02. Promessa (Custódio Mesquita / Evaldo Ruy)
03. Saudade da Bahia (Dorival Caymmi)
04. When Lights Are Low (Carter / Williams)
      Bop-tura (Dare You Bop) (Charlie Ventura)
05. Espinita (Nico Jimenez)
06. I Love You Samantha (Cole Porter)
07. Vola Colomba (Carlo Concina / Bruno Cherubini)
08. Luna Rossa (A. Avian / V. de Crescenzo)
09. Esperame En El Cielo (Francisco Lopez Vidal "Paquito")
10. Meet Mister Callaghan (Eric Spears)
11. I Could Have Danced All Night (Alan Jay Lerner / Frederick Loewe)
12. Only You (Buck Ram / Ande Rand)

After quick listening to several tracks, I burned this album immediately to CD and could not stop playing it over and over again.
Once again it happens: Playing pure para dançar relieves the musicians of the pressure to create art that will amaze the public and critics and get a place in music history (an attitude which so often leads  to catastrophic results) and makes it possible to really create something outstanding.
Well Gallo and his conjunto have created a masterpiece here, pure beauty, elegance and excitement.


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos 


  1. Milan , the track Bop-tura is not compsed by french bandleader Ray Ventura. It is a composition by american Jazz saxophonist Charlie Ventura, leader of the Bop for the people Combo.


Please do not post new link requests in the comments as they will not be published.


1. Send a request by mail to

2. If I still have the album(s) and they are not copyrighted you will receive a PayPal.Me 2.99 euro per album contribution request.

3. After you make the contribution, a new link will be sent to you by mail.